top of page

Golf Croquet Lose to Porthpean But A Good Mid Summer Tournament

Sidmouth Herald published 9 June 2011

Photo: Porthpean and Sidmouth (front row) Golf Croquet teams Golf Croquet League Match v Cornwall [Porthpean]

A team of eight players travelled to Cornwall to play Porthpean in the SW Federation Golf Croquet League. This venue is renowned for its exposure to the elements, situated on a wide plateau with strong winds, even on fine days!

The match comprised 16 singles and four doubles. By lunchtime, 12 of the singles had been played, with Porthpean leading 6-4 with two games drawn. After lunch, the remaining singles and the doubles were played, with Sidmouth unable to catch up. Final score Porthpean 11, Sidmouth 9.

Sidmouth put up a fair performance against a team having the advantage of a predominantly favourable handicap. The Sidmouth June Mid-Summer Tournament

The Sidmouth June Mid-Summer Tournament attracted 25 participants from as far afield as Worcester, Bury and Edinburgh, with nine entrants from Sidmouth, writes Mike Taylor.

In the Knockout Competition, 16 players were placed in four groups with the winners forming the semi-final placements. Group winners were Chris Donovan (Budleigh Salterton), Rosemary Bradshaw (Sidmouth), Philip Harris (Sidmouth) and Barbara Clarke (Sidmouth).

The semi-final pairings were Donovan against Bradshaw and Harris against Clarke with Donovan winning +2 and Harris winning +7. In the final, Harris was an easy winner +25, continuing his current good form and reducing his handicap to 14.

In the Handicap Competition for the Dwerryhouse Cup, Colin Walls (Sidmouth) won all his games in style (reducing his handicap to 11), with Derek Powell (Sidmouth) a close second.

The David Rawkins Cup was won by Barbara Young (Bury) who was untouchable, winning all her group games and the final, +13, against David Clarke (Sidmouth).

Brian Pollock (Budleigh Salterton) won the Fortfield Cup by beating Sue Rogers (Worcester and Sidmouth).

●Brian Pollock (Budleigh Salterton) won the Fortfield Cup by beating Sue Rogers (Worcester and Sidmouth).

Ian Friedlander (Sidmouth) was the winner of the fastest game prize.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page